Chairman Wow!

October 6, 2009

Overheard in Austin…

Filed under: Uncategorized — Carly J Hallman @ 5:05 pm

I’m all for stealing. But don’t get me wrong here– I’m not saying I condone teenage girls stealing Bonne Bell lip gloss from Walgreens or Meth addicts jacking cars from parking lots (though many years of “Grand Theft Auto: Vice City” have understandably made car theft seem rather sexy to me).

This is what I’m saying: sometimes good ideas can (and should) be stolen or removed from one situation/location and applied in another. For example, one of my favorite features in one of my favorite magazines in Beijing was dedicated to interesting snippets of overheard conversation. I’ve decided to steal this idea and use it as a regular feature in my blog. Because, I mean, we all know Austin is weird…and in weird cities live weird people…and weird people participate in weird conversations…

Don’t believe me? Overheard around town today:

ear

  • “Alright. I’ll text you when I get out of therapy.”
  • “Oh [expletive], I think I just got butter on my glasses.”
  • “Whoa. You are dressed just like Rick Perry!”
  • “You can’t wear that this weekend. My parents are offended by claws.”
  • “Nothing to drink for you today? Well, there’s always tomorrow. Wait, no there’s not because tomorrow never comes. It’s always today. Have a nice day. Today.”
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Comment »

    No comments yet.

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

