Chairman Wow!

September 30, 2009

Austin, TX: Zombies, Cowboys, Michael Moore look-a-likes

Filed under: Uncategorized — Carly J Hallman @ 12:30 pm

Sometimes I feel like Austin is one big inside joke. Zombies running down SoCo on First Thursday! A gang of pirates waiting for a bus on Riverside! Men in mini skirts strutting their stuff on North Lamar! I laugh, but I don’t quite understand.

zombies

I visited Austin during ACL weekend in 2008 (almost exactly one year ago). I knew little about Austin then. I had flown in from Beijing just days before, and I spent my weekend in ATX trying to relax and nurse my jetlag as best I could in spite of the traffic, the Texas heat, the people, the hustle and bustle. As part of my efforts, I strolled over to Whole Foods on Lamar one afternoon to people-watch and grab a bite to eat. As is my luck, I got a whole lot more “people” than I bargained for. Ahem. But my bizarre (and slightly traumatizing) sighting inspired art– I later wrote this story that included a fictionalized version of what went down that ungodly day at America’s favorite organic grocery chain.

Austin is a stage, a perpetual performance. And I’ll continue to laugh at and appreciate the actors, the dialogue, the costumes, the scenery, the madness– even if I never do grasp the punchline.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

